Friday, July 20, 2007

These are the last blocks I made for an Egyptian themed swap. I made 4 so i get 4 back. Plan to use the ones I get back to make a wall hanging or throw for DH. He is fascinated with all things Egyptian and especially the pyrimids.

On this first block I used one of the buttons that I thought looked like pyrimids in the button cluster. I found the little camel on eBay as a trim of a row of camels and cut it apart to use a few on each block. The egyptian charm is from a pair of earrings I have had since the 80's. I used some wood beads have had for years and some trim I have had a while that has coins with egyptian looking symbols on one side and oriental on the other. All the embroidery borders and designs are from a Dover Egyptian themed transfer pattern book. Got the little charm on this one on eBay. These are what almost made me late for this swap, took forever to get them, but she sends them off and has them made and the price is very very good. I also used some other little metal discs, more embroidery, and my second attempt at adding one of those little mirrors. Sheisha I think it is called. I could not do it in thread so tried it in beads and turned out pretty good.
Another of those charms on this one, of a sphinx this time. I did a lot of experimenting with different stitches and combinations on these blocks and learned in the process. I like my cat with the earring in his nose and ear. Have a couple of cats around here that think they should be treated as royalty.
Used the pyrimid charm on this one, more of those old wooden beads, and lots of experimenting on those seam treatments. Had to add a scarab beetle somewhere.


Susan said...

What a project. I love the way it's looking. The little bed covers are terrific. How big are those pillows?

JK said...

These are simply beautiful, and I got to see them up close and personal. You ladies have made me so dang proud! Such beautiful work and such love put into these. Thanks so much darlin for participating in this!

A Little About Me

Hi and Welcome! I am 50 years old, married with 2 girls Andrea and Crystal, and 3 grandchildren. A girl, Jesi who is 13 that we are raising and a boy, Christian, who is 6 and, lives with Mom. Andrew James or Peanut is 6months old and brother to Jesi. We live in a house built in 1897 that is not in the best of shape but we are working on it and we love it. It is a 2 story colonial style with big columns and a big wrap around front porch. We also have 6 cats, of which only part of are allowed in the house, and 5 dogs. A Momma dog and 4 puppies. She had 9, we gave one away, then they all came down with parvo. I lost 4 but was able to save 4. A heartrending experience but was just glad to be able to save any. No help from the vet as they want so much money but found some homeopathic remedies that actually worked. I also have a 7 month old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel that is my baby. She goes everywhere with me, sleeps under the covers with me, and is just the cutest thing ever.